The Vote is Thursday March 7

Email from The Georgia Coalition for Public Education.:

vouuchercoalition

Today, public education advocates defeated the voucher bill, SB 173, in the Georgia Senate. The vote was 28 Nos/25 Yeas. That’s the good news, no …. the GREAT NEWS. Thank you to each of you who called, texted, or emailed to let your senator know of your opposition to vouchers. Senators told us they were hearing from many, many constituents. YOU MADE A DIFFERENCE!!The bad news is that there will be a motion for reconsideration made on Thursday morning (tomorrow is a committee day, so there is no session). If the motion to reconsider passes there will be another vote on SB 173, so we still need your help.

What we’d like you to do today and tomorrow is to contact the Republicans who voted NO, to thank them and to express your opposition to vouchers. Choice proponents will be flooding them with demands to switch their votes and we need them to adhere to their NO positions from today. The list of Republicans who voted NO is:

Butch Miller – butch.miller@senate.ga.gov
Ellis Black – ellis.black@senate.ga.gov
Greg Kirk – greg.kirk@senate.ga.gov
Lindsey Tippins – lindsey.tippins@senate.ga.gov
Dean Burke – dean.burke@senate.ga.gov
Tyler Harper – tyler.harper@senate.ga.gov
Jack Hill – jack.hill@senate.ga.gov

Three Republicans were excused and they might vote on Thursday. Please contact these senators also:

Brandon Beach – brandon.beach@senate.ga.gov
Jeff Mullis – jeff.mullis@senate.ga.gov
Mike Dugan – mike.dugan@senate.ga.gov

Please call these senators and ask for a NO vote on reconsideration of SB 173. The fiscal impact of this bill is estimated to be approximately $543 million/year once fully implemented.

Additionally, these “choice” vouchers will have little to no impact on students in rural Georgia because there are so few “choices” (private schools) in those districts. What’s more, the amount of the vouchers will not buy a student’s way into a private school. The average cost of private school in the metro area, where private schools are plentiful, is $18,000/year. These vouchers primarily help wealthy, urban taxpayers. Finally, there is no evidence that vouchers improve academic achievement, which should be our #1 consideration in crafting education policy.

Thank you SO much for fighting for public education.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s